Mar / 2021

Let’s Celebrate PE Moving Forward

Educating our kids has taken on new meaning during COVID-19. While the education process varies from district to district and school to school, one principle remains constant: it is vital to prioritize kids’ health and well-being. Physical education is a key contributor to physical and mental health during and after the pandemic.

We’re making March ALL ABOUT PE: why it’s so important, how it’s made a difference during the pandemic, and how parents and taxpayers can advocate for PE moving forward. Join the Active Schools movement, comprised of 90+ partner organizations and more than 44,000 registered champions for #PEMovingForward, a social media campaign to celebrate and advocate for PE!

School districts are making decisions NOW about how to conduct and fund education for school year 2021-22, so let the decision-makers know what you want and expect for your child and all students.

5 WAYS YOU CAN SUPPORT PE

1. Pledge your support for PE – become an Active Schools champion; it’s free.

2. Post your PE stories on social media using the hashtag #PEMovingForward.

Thank a PE Teacher – tag your child’s PE teacher and/or school and give them a shout-out.

3. Learn tried-and-true parent and taxpayer PE advocacy strategies.

➤ Participate in a free 1-hour webinar on Monday, March 15, 3-4pm ET / 2-3pm CT / 1-2pm MT / 12-1pm PT – REGISTER HERE.

➤ Hear from the experts at the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America) and three parents who have successfully advocated for PE.

4. Email or send a letter about the importance of PE to your principal, superintendent, and school board.

Use these easy template letters.

5. Advocate for PE on social media.

➤ Use hashtag #PEMovingFoward and tag (@) your school, principal, school district, superintendent, and school board members.

➤ You could also tag members of your district’s health/wellness advisory committee and your school’s health/wellness advisory committee and PTA/PTO.

Key Physical Education Information and Advocacy Resources 

It’s Time to Prioritize Health & Physical Education from SHAPE America

Strengthen Physical Education in Schools from Springboard to Active School

Exercise Their Minds from Voices for Healthy Kids

Physical Education and Physical Activity from CDC

Physical Education Along with Physical Activity: Kids Need Both from SHAPE America